Ten Terrific Things Thursday #Three – Texas 70.3!

Ten Terrific Things Thursday #3 Woot!!  I wasn’t sure if it would happen when I was writing last week’s TTTT, but travel time to Galveston  has made it so! I know you’re excited.

In dedication of those travels the first terrific thing this week is:

1) The Texas 70.3. With pro women around the world knocking out super impressive performances, I am super excited to giver this weekend!! (“giver”  is a Canadian word – generally followed by “eh”)  The course looks great and I’m even all over the potential windy and rainy-ness.  Bring it! We got to experience some of that on our drive in, as you can see. Great swim at the Matthew T. Doyle Natatorium to start our time here.

   

2) The Miracle of Flying!! Every time I fly and am subsequently annoyed by the whole security/check-in process (really?  that bottle had like 1/2 a squirt of water in it, but noooo *danger* take it away, take it away), I like to think about this video. Relevant part is 2:00 in.

3) The Oatmeal. Comic strips about the incorrect use of the word “literally” and the difficult life of male angler fish are clearly all kinds of awesome, but this one made me laugh and is in keeping with this Thursday’s travel theme!

http://theoatmeal.com/comics/airplane

4) The book – The Pursuit of Excellence by Terry Orlic. If you are a regular visitor to our blog, you will have seen this book mentioned before. It is always pre-race reading, and re-reading  for me, and I have important excerpts, that help calm me mentally, organized on my Kindle ‘cause I’m dorky like that.   I recently finished “The Lacuna” by Barbara Kingsolver (great book) and I liked this quote too  “You cannot stop a bad thought from coming into your head, but you need not pull up a chair and bide it sit down.” I think we all tend to freak out a bit race week, but just remember that we simply have to choose to let go of negative thoughts.

   

5) UltraAspire transition bag. This bag is the best transition bag I’ve ever used, and it also makes a perfect carry-on. Well, they are pretty much one and the same:  When I fly to races I always bring my race shoes (running & cycling), my race kit, & goggles, so if everything else gets lost in transit I can still conceivably toe the line.

   

6) Floating Aid Station. Last week I mentioned how terrific it was to be lake swimming in March. We’ve had some long workouts so devised a system to get calories quickly, but keep hammering out at the buoys.  Assembly instructions: Tie a shoelace to a neoprene beer bottle holder;  insert EFS liquid shot flask; tie shoe lace around your waist for initial swim to buoy; tie shoelace to buoy chain; swim hard. Ta da!

  

7) Being Pissed Off For Greatness!

8) In-flight meal. Team Wurtele hit it out of the park with this one. Left-over pizza from home, grapes, Bonk Breakers, apples… High Five!!

  

9) Having ridiculous amounts of helmets from a new Helmet/ Bike shoe sponsor waiting for you at your hotel. Thanks Giro! Our noggins are officially safe! Now the question is: How do we get all these home?  I think I might try wearing one through airport security to really freak the TSA guys out…

And the final terrific thing about this Thursday is

10) Being terribly tall on a tiny plane. I love being able to wedge my head against the ceiling for extra support. It makes me feel all a warm and fuzzy inside.

~ by trevorandheather on March 29, 2012.

4 Responses to “Ten Terrific Things Thursday #Three – Texas 70.3!”

  1. Great read!

    I hope the pool was as free, in the sense of no people, and no cost as it was for me this morning.

    If you guys need some stuff taken back to AZ for you, if that is where you are staying still, I’m heading up to Mesa this week and would be happy to take some stuff with me.

    See you soon.

  2. oh man! I was crying from laughing so hard at the Oatmeal comic and crying from, “Being pissed off for Greatness.” Great way to start my day. Seriously.

    The last picture was ohhh so familiar.

    xoxoxo
    and I’ll be rooting for ya from home!!!!

  3. You know, you may just start something here.. If I start seeing beer huggies hanging off buoy’s at races I have evidence where that trend started… hmmm should I tie one off at the far buoy at Ironman Couer D’Alene and swig down some EFS LS?

  4. I’m pretty sure we Canadians have to spell it “giv’r”
    Just sayin’, eh?

Leave a Reply

 
