Trevor’s Oceanside 70.3 race report

This is my 3rd year racing in Oceanside and hands down my best race, even if it is my worst placing! Weird.  Oceanside 70.3 definitely seems to draw a crowd of top names and this year was absolutely no exception. Normally a 14th place in 70.3 event isn’t all that hot, but to be honest, I had a great race and executed my plan better than expected. A solid swim, a ride with Avg wattage above 300, and a 2 minute personal best Half Ironman 21.1km run of 1:16:06. I really have nothing to complain about…other than getting beat by 13 other guys.

After talking with coach Paulo we came up with a pretty simple race plan:

#1. Swim with awareness of your surroundings
#2. Hold cycling wattage above 290 and below 350
#3. Pace the run properly and bring it home strong

With The Triathlon Squad I put a ton of work into the swim this past winter. Was nice to see that work come through today. All said, I was still lacking a little bit of oomph when it mattered and lost a great group of guys somewhere around the 900m mark. The choppy and rolling waters of Oceanside harbor made drafting that much harder, once a good pair of feet were lost it made for a tough time to get back on. Regardless, I was sighting well, and with the cloud cover (no sun glare) this year I could really see a good ways into the distance allowing me to pick a good line on the way back in. Excluding Andy Potts who swam a ridiculous 22:30 -2 minutes faster than the next closest guy – I was much closer to the front of the field than ever before – great big LIKE.

T1 went relatively smoothly.  No stumbling, to stress, just a nice quick removal of the wetsuit that has some nice flexible material on the back of the calf so it slips over your heels with ease.

Something new for me on the bike was racing with power. I’ve been training with power for almost a year now, but have never had the opportunity to see what I’m doing on race day, and WOW, does it ever make a difference. Especially for the first 30minutes and the last 30 minutes of a 90km TT. For the first 30 minutes I was absolutely convinced something was wrong with the CycleOps hub. There was no possible way 375 watts could feel that easy. Nonetheless I stuck with my goal range, which felt like I was out for an easy recovery ride. Soon enough however, rather than having to control the power cap I started to have to keep an eye on the bottom end.  I have no doubt I have been killing myself in previous races by going out WAY too hard. In those first 30 minutes I had to let a group of 5 guys ride past. It was entirely within my ability to stay with them, but the decision to stick with my power cap kept me off the back. Hard to say if they were riding too hard.  I know at least 4 of them came back to me on the run, so maybe they were.  Even so, hard to let people ride away when things are feeling good.  For the remainder of the ride I was absolutely on my own, keeping with my plan and churning a nice effort of around 310 watts. Which, for absolute certain, did not feel so easy in the last 30 minutes of the ride. By that point I was really having to keep my focus to maintain some 300w numbers with nobody in sight up the road.

Into T2, I too, like Heather, have to wear socks.  I have the worlds sweatiest feet and no shoe in the world can keep my feet from blistering without socks.  10km is probably OK.  21 K, nope.

This run was by far, by WAY far, my best run split ever.  In fact I was simply aiming to finally break 1:18.  Without power I’m not sure what would have happened. Maybe a faster bike time and a bit of a group to ride with, but it’s doubtful I would have ran a 1:16:06.  Last year on this exact same course I ran a 1:19.  THREE minutes difference. That’s not exactly chump improvement, nor something you would expect from 5 months of hard work. All that running along the Rio Grande in Las Cruces and the Rillito Wash in Tucson with The Triathlon Squad helped out (reluctant to use the words ‘paid off’ just yet ’cause they don’t pay squat for a 14th place!).  Still plenty of work to be done, though.  I’m well back of the big guns running under 1:13.

Anyway, solid race all around. I’m backing this one up with another 70.3 in two weeks down in New Orleans.  A few changes to my race plan for that one, primarily on the bike, but all in all I’m looking forward to banging off another solid execution.

A quick shout to our awesome sponsors. Blue Competition Cycles, Rolf Prima, First Endurance Nutrition and CycleOps power for giving us the goods to ride fast. Aqua Sphere for their amazing Phantom wetsuit and crazy awesome goggles. And of course, AVIA for the speedy shoes and matching race kits. We’ve been lucky to be with Blue and AVIA for 3 seasons now. Every year they come out with amazing improvements on already amazing product. Love you guys.

~ by trevorandheather on April 7, 2011.

One Response to “Trevor’s Oceanside 70.3 race report”

  1. congrats on a great race, thats a smoking run split!! You looked solid on the run!

Leave a Reply

 
