2 months goes by quick

It’s almost time to race again!! Phew, this training stuff is HARD!  It’s been an amazing couple months since Ironman St. George.  It definitely feels strange not to race at all in June (especially watching everyone else rip it up), but it was the right decision as far as the rest of the season goes.  We wanted to ensure we were totally recovered from St. George before getting back at it (about 3 weeks).  Then we needed a good block of nothing but training to regain and build on past fitness.  Since I (Trev) didn’t perform too well in St. George, I especially needed to gain confidence from putting in some amazing training, as opposed to going out and trying to redeem myself by racing too soon.  Heather, on the other hand, was clearly in amazing shape for St. George, and I’m sure she could have recovered and gone on to have some solid 70.3 events through late May and June.  The major goal, however, is Ironman Canada (an more long term in general) and that required putting down a solid training block before getting back into the race scene.

It’s been some of the best training we’ve ever done, honestly.  For me it’s a completely different type of training than I’ve ever experienced.  Heather had a taste of it in the lead up to St. George, but now she’s really hitting it hard.  We both are.  Training has always been ‘hard’, but I can honestly say I’ve never done any form of true speed or threshold work…outside of the odd sprint to get to an ice cream bowl.

Training always used to be hard in volume, not intensity.  That type of training worked very well for me for 4 years, but something really started to stagnate this winter.  6 minute miles in a half Ironman AGAIN! I was doing that as an Age-grouper in 2007.  Now though, the change in training has broken the mold for sure, I’m gaining confidence daily and seeing the improvement in numbers.  Who knew I could run 2 miles in 10 minutes flat…not me, until now.  Last year I did try to run 1 mile as fast I could (once), and now I’m running 2 of them back to back about 15 seconds per mile faster than I did that one!  And I can do that 3 times in a row, with rest (almost, not quite)!! Crazy!!  I love seeing change like that, and it does make a difference to how well you can run in an Ironman (not to mention the benefit in a half).  Same stuff on the bike, some great changes in only 5 weeks.  Funny enough, the ‘hard’ training I used to do, where I thought I was avoiding the grey zone, was actually ALLLL grey zone.  Now I’ve got a clear separation of the two, I’ve seen wicked high heart rates, power numbers, paces.  Such a change from the days of heart rates caps and 7hr rides.  I mean, those have their space in the training for sure, but what I didn’t recognize was the need to move away from that stuff once I started to plateau.

Cat-nap

The swim, well, that’s a different story.  It would seem I have to get EVEN slower before I can get faster! Haha.  This happened to Heather this winter as well.  She upped her volume by about 10km per week, that smashed her ability to swim fast in the pool due to fatigue, but once rested she was able to swim with the front group of an Ironman.  I’m hoping by Ironman Canada (or maybe this weekend!!) I can rip off a great one.

But yes, race time it is.  Vancouver international half Iron on July 4th.  A great venue in a great city with a great bunch of athletes coming out to rip it up.  I’m excited to get back on the start line with a renewed confidence and belief in myself.  After that we’re going to race in Osoyoos the following week, probably without much rest between the two, more of a training thing.  One week after that I have to try and beat Heather at the Kelowna Across the Lake Swim – a 2.1km mass start in Okanagan Lake.  I got lucky with a skookum pair of feet last year, we’ll see if I can hang with my wonderwoman wife this time, though!!  She’s fast. (She’s also a picky editor – just asked me if I was okay with the heading of this post being grammatically incorrect! ha).

Here’s to hoping that Pacific Ocean isn’t too cold next Sunday.

~ by trevorandheather on June 27, 2010.

4 Responses to “2 months goes by quick”

  1. Good luck on Sunday – I’ll be down there cheering you on!

  2. Good luck on Sunday, and rock the swim!! 🙂

  3. good luck guys, always anxious to see your results!

  4. Heather & Trevor,
    We wish you all the best and hope you are rewarded for all your hard training.
    Be well.
    Mom,J&K, Abbey, Sadie & Isaac

Leave a Reply

 
