The invisible woman

Here is my flashy new race kit from AVIA, maybe I will get noticed in this!!

I seem to be the invisible woman. I mean I am very tall, and I am definitely a member of the itty bitty titty committee so I get mistaken for a man a lot of the time when I am riding – sadly, even when I am running. Last year’s racing kit was gray, black, blue and dark green which didn’t help matters on the androgynous front.  Perhaps this is why bobo-the-monkey-clown pro male decided to mess with me the whole ride this past Saturday at the Oceanside 70.3? ? He kept on passing on little downhills but couldn’t maintain his speed on any sort of incline so I got to back out of his draft zone and lose time over and over and over again. As luck would have it, when I finally got fed up and re-passed without coasting first, the draft marshal was right there. Wamo! Red card! 4 minutes to spend in the penalty tent in T2, and basically the end of my race – anywhere near the front at least. 4 minutes is a hell of a long time in a half Ironman.

Trevor and I at the Oceanside pool - so nice!

I took things in stride on race day. Definitely a real pisser that that penalty cost me a good placing, but c’est la vie. If only my sub-conscious could be so easy going.  I was wide awake from bad race dreams a lot of last night and lay awake fretting over what ifs…

It was a stacked field and I was up there with the best in the world, but it amounts to a whole lot of nothing (outside of my own self-awareness and confidence) when you sit in the penalty tent in T2 for 4 minutes. It is tough to internalize that stuff and still try to show your value/ability/potential to sponsors without sounding like an egomaniac or like you are making excuses. I made the smart prudent call by pulling the plug at half way on the run, to save my newly healed leg, but a DNF is still hard on the head, and it is hard not to feel totally feeble writing about it.

Still, I can deal with this, who cares what people think, but I had to go and self-flagellate more and read the Slowtwitch race report of Oceanside this morning.  My name was nowhere. “Well you didn’t finish the race you lameass!” you might remark, but neither did other women who were mentioned – and rightly so – b/c of their roles in the race early on. I mean coming into T2 it was Leanda Cave, Miranda Carfrae, ME, Sam McGlone, and Michellie Jones. These women are my heroes. Am I a total loser for wanting to have my existence in their highly respectable company acknowledged? You may think so, but better you think something and at least know I exist.

Name dropping is a sure sign of insecurity  and I was raised to know that fishing for compliments doesn’t fly, and that you don’t go out and do things for recognition – you do your best and accept what comes. But still, as Autsin Powers would say “throw me a frikin’ bone here”!  I am trying to make a living as a pro triathlete and getting my name out there is  important for my sponsors (and let’s admit it, my self-esteem too!) Please race spotters, race summary writers, that tall person on the Triad, often in the mix at the front of the race, is a GIRL named Heather Wurtele!!

View from the camper on the trip home from Oceanside - Ventura beach

~ by trevorandheather on March 29, 2010.

7 Responses to “The invisible woman”

  1. Thats a better looking Kit than ’09, plus the arm warmer are sweet looking.
    Sounds like you maybe a smart decision, cant wait to see you rock IM SG in just a few weeks! Keep up the hard work.

  2. Hey, you made the photo gallery on one of the sites! I think it was slowtwitch, but it might also have been xtri! And don’t worry, I’m sure we’ll here plenty about you and Trevor all season long! It’s only just begun!
    Happy Racing,
    Dave

  3. Here’s the link:
    http://www.slowtwitch.com/photos/Detailed/110.html

  4. Hey you… uhhh is it Heather?

    If it makes you feel any better- I talk about you ALL the time– no one around me will be surprised after your next win!

    :0)

  5. I’ve been lurking on your blog for a while, but have to comment now- that kit ROCKS! Love the hot pink. Keep on keeping on, you are an amazing athlete.

  6. Heather, hang in there, I totally get the “throw me a bone here”, even in my little neck of the triathlon world-you rock girl! You are an inspiration to look up to. Everyone could use a little acknowledgement once in awhile. Great job by stepping back and saving the body for the next big race.

    By the way, does Trevor get to wear the same kit? I love the pics when you both match, but maybe we best not go there!

  7. Keep up the great work, and desire to strive for excellence!

    One of your fans,
    Scott

Leave a Reply

 
