Race time

Gowland Todd Trail in 2004

Our little adventure to Lompoc ended prematurely.  After two swims, 1 long ride, and a few hours on various treadmills, machines, and mats we were on our way back to Solvang/Santa Ynez.  Their pool is closed on Sunday so toughing out 2 more nights, stepping over our bikes and freezing ourselves at night, didn’t sound like a very good trade off for one more swim on Monday.  Instead, we drove back to our comfy parking spot, slept in on Sunday and banked an extra long (and extra slow)  run up the lower roads of Mt. Figueroa.  Turns out, half of Central California was also going up Mt. Figueroa to see some snow.  It ended up being one of the more annoying runs we’ve had in a while – people actually have the gall to honk at us while driving 100 miles per hour and blow us off the road. So much for our deserted little back road.  I started carrying a small rock in my hand lest another snow crazed lunatic attempt to kill us. I was absolutely going to put it through the windshield.  I even envisioned myself doing so, then getting pummeled and thrown into the back of panel van by masked vigilantes, where I then fought my way out like Bruce Lee in Enter the Dragon.  I love how my mind wanders when I run, even while dodging 5 cars per minute on a road that normally sees 5 cars per hour.

No matter, it’s time to race.  We signed up for a trail race up in San Luis Obispo, 3 weeks from now.  “The Montana de Oro” – 25K of dirt.  There is also a 50k, but in my opinion that’s a bit much for a training day type of race, especially 1.5 months out from the Tri Season.  There is no way I could hold back and make it a time on the feet thing, when it’s a race – it’s a downright race and I’ll make it hurt.  25K on trail seems like a good test.  Course records are just over 2hrs -that’s a great lung and leg buster without the lingering side affects of a 50K slog.  We’re both excited, it’s been at least a few years since we’ve done any type of race outside of a triathlon.  Well, that’s not entirely true, we did a few open water swim races last summer ranging in distances from 2km to 7km.  Other than that, though, my last running race was a half marathon in October of 2007 around the roads of Shawnigan Lake near Victoria, BC.

Ironmans are a lesson in enduring fatigue and racing smart.  I like that, though I often race dumb (correction – used to race dumb, ‘uninformed’ if that makes it sound better.  But really, it’s up to me to do the informing so technically it’s still dumb), but it’s also good to remind yourself of how to suffer some lung busting pain as well.  Straight up run races, bike races, and shorter distance triathlons are great for that.

Bring on the hills.

~ by trevorandheather on January 26, 2010.

3 Responses to “Race time”

  1. Good Luck! San Luis Obispo is one of my favorite places on earth! (even though I’ve only been there once!) Have a great race!

  2. “There is also a 50k, but in my opinion that’s a bit much for a training day type of race, especially 1.5 months out from the Tri Season. There is no way I could hold back and just make it a time on the feet thing, when it’s a race – it’s a downright race and I’ll make it hurt. 25K on trail seems like a good test.”

    Another option would be to race 25K of the 50K (for the race/workout consideration) and then see what transpires for the remaining 25K!

    🙂

    In jest, partially,
    -CV

  3. Maybe I’ll just attach a tire to my waist and really make it tough. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
