Not trying to rub it in, but look at these photos!

I (Heather) have to pinch myself regularly down here in Solvang, CA. It is JANUARY and I am putting sunscreen on my face and getting knee-warmer tan lines. I only wear the knee warmers b/c I don’t want to make people too jealous in all the photos! Actually, it can be quite cool in the mornings, but the whole – warming up to over 20 oC by noon- thing is pretty awesome!!

We have been killing it so far this year, training wise. My leg (officially the adductor magnus insertion – alternatively called my butt, hamstring, hip, leg by CV and ‘crotchal area’ by my tactful husband- I realize ‘adductor magnus insertion’ is a mouthful) is almost back to 100%. I changed my bike position a bit, and have been doing an awesome series of strengthening and lateral stability exercises.

Anyway, 1:30, 11.5 mile runs on pavement? Check.  8 mile MAF tests on the track comfortably holding 7:20’s at 145 bpm. Check. 5hr rides with most of it at IM threshold –  chasing Trevor until my HR gets too high. Check. Over 30 hrs of very solid training last week. Check.

Da bomb!

This morning we had a long hard swim, and I felt fantastic in the water.  I should be a lot more tired right now, and I really think that First Endurance has been a huge factor in my ability to train so hard, well, so much at least (mostly long aerobic stuff) and to recover so well. I have a very high sweat rate and the electrolyte contents of both the EFS sport drink and the Ultragen recovery drink are properly replacing what I am loosing, for once.  I also think that EFS grape is totally the bomb, on deck, at the pool. You can grab a quick swig in the 10 sec rest interval during a hard set and not worry about evil throat scorbies making it impossible to breath afterwards. Throat cloggage while swimming is the worst!!

Speaking of swimming, Chuckie wrote a good post about one we did the other day here. No Carlos V bar for me today, even though I cruised through the main set of 500, 2×400, 3×300, 4×200, 5×100 set like nobodies business. It is really great to have my husband to race, and sometimes beat (ahem, like today) in the pool. He has a great sense of pacing in the water and always forces me to stay strong when I see him creeping up at the end (assuming I’m not already staring at his butt). The Santa Ynez Y is usually so quiet we each get our own lane!

This afternoon we had an easy 2 hr photo spin on tap. We cruised through the gorgeous, rolling, oak and vineyard covered hills and snapped away while riding – classic Wurtele style.  Life is pretty good. Yes indeedy.

this was from Tuesday - post hill repeats

~ by trevorandheather on January 14, 2010.

3 Responses to “Not trying to rub it in, but look at these photos!”

  1. love that blue sky. i am jealous

  2. NICE TRY!!???
    LOL,
    Mom

  3. aaaahhh. so jealous, its high 30 ‘s Fahrenheit and raining all week. Looks like paradise this time of the year! Grape EFS is da bomb!

Leave a Reply

 
