Gluten Free Diet and belated Joshua Tree pics

I, Heather, am back in California and well on my way to full recovery from my leg injury. In addition to awesome core and lateral stability routines to keep me injury free, I am playing around with some dietary things to try to maximize my performance in 2010.

I tend to suffer from mystery painful digestive cramps and extremely painful bloating gas once a week or so, and I have a feeling gluten sensitivity may be part of it. I am keeping a detailed food log to correlate daily training performance, mood, recovery, general all around vibes of goodness, with what I put down my throat. I was told by a friend with some serious food allergies, that after doing this for 2 weeks or so it became pretty apparent what foods were causing here problems. Makes sense. There is too much to tease apart other wise.

If you are interested in following my progress while I eat gluten free – check out the Team First Endurance website here. Just scroll down on the main page and you can see the posts. You can also sign up and look at all the forum discussions and finally find answers to those triathlon related nutrition questions you’ve always pondered. There is a lot of great info on this site and I am constantly learning useful new things.

I hope that you are all having a great lead up to Christmas and that you’re managing to minimize holiday season stress. I just finished  “When the Body Says No – The Hidden cost of Stress” and definitely recommend it.

Here are some photos from our trip to Joshua Tree National Park after Ironman Arizona.


~ by trevorandheather on December 19, 2009.

2 Responses to “Gluten Free Diet and belated Joshua Tree pics”

  1. Nice pics. I’ll check out that book too. Going “homeless” soon myself. See Joel’s twitter quotes from earlier today. I tend to avoid gluten and ANY refined flour/carbo/sugar. My energy levels feel fantastic. I cheat a little on the sugar side of things for my super high intensity workouts though.

    Having fun in the Rocky Mountain Backcountry! 🙂

  2. hey, let me know how the gluten free diet goes. and rememner there is life after gluten. Happy Chirstmas to you and Heather

Leave a Reply

 
