From sweat to shivers

DSCN1703After 5 weeks in Hawaii, coming back to the cold air and even colder rain of Canada has been quite a shock.  I like running in cool weather, though, because no matter how cold it is you can always maintain an optimal body temperature if you dress correctly.  Running in Hawaii is totally the opposite, no matter how little you wear (and believe me, Ironman triathletes in Hawaii like to test the limits of minimum clothing requirements), you’re still going to sweat out of every pore imaginable.  Then there’s the need for water; liters of it over a 2hr run.  The other day, in Canada on a 2hr run, all I needed was one gel flask with water and a couple of Chocolate Agave gels.  I didn’t even finish the water.  Awesome.  A lot of that had to do with my adaptation to Hawaii’s heat.  By the 3rd week on the big island we found we didn’t need to drink as much as we did when we first arrived.  The human body is pretty wicked (most of the time), I’m just hoping we can get down south soon enough to keep some nice heat acclimation going.  Though, 3 and 4 hour trainer rides have a way of working up a sweat and keeping that mechanism in place.

Heather’s injury is looking better and better.  She can swim faster than ever, has managed a very short trainer session or two, lots of walking and hiking, and two very good physio appointments.  Another few days of just going through some easy motions and she’ll see if starting to train again next week is feasible.  We’re both registered for Ironman Arizona, and regardless of how she’s feeling she will be on the start line (unless that puts her at risk for re-injuring the thing).  Perhaps it will just be a hard swim and a short easy bike ride before getting into spectator mode, but the way recovery is going I think she’ll be there to smash a few legs.  4.5 weeks from now till race day is a long time, and she won’t have lost much fitness since Hawaii.  Given how strong she was before October 10th, I have no doubt she can bring it back to a level that would see her challenge for the win.

It took me a good 4 weeks to feel like myself again after Ironman Canada.  1 week in Canada doing almost nothing but light swimming.  Then 1 week in Hawaii with a lot of sleeping.  A further 2 weeks of consistent, but forced and labored training.  Then all of a sudden something clicked and I was hammering out some great training sessions and ready to go again for the next.  That left 2 really good weeks of training on the big Island.  No seriously epic days in the 7-8 hour range, but nice hard 3-5 hour days that make you stronger without throwing you close to the danger zone.

It may not look steep, but I assure you it is.

It may not look steep, but I assure you it is.

One arm picture taking while climbing 17% aint easy.

One arm picture taking while climbing 17% aint easy.

I never did tell my story about the climb up Kaloko – actually, wasn’t really a story anyway.  Did it, and didn’t die coming down, Avg RPM was probably close to 50 for the 58 minutes it took me to get up.  Normally I’m not such a sissy about descending big hills but that one gets me.  It’s non-stop steep, the hands are sweaty and feel like they’re going to slide off the end of the bull horns, there’s moss on the off-camber road, I’m on a  tri bike and the rear brake under the BB doesn’t have the greatest stopping power in the world, foggy, cool…just plain weird I guess.

So now we’re off for our second adventure south en-route to Ironman Arizona.  We’re hoping to find some good training around Moab, Utah.  I’ve only ever seen pictures of that place so it will be super cool to check it out in person.  There’s got to be some great trail running, I’m sure.  My sister and her man, the hard-core mountaineers and rock climbers, will be in the area for a couple weeks as well.  If you like the mountains you’d probably enjoy their latest blog entry.  I’m hopeful we can meet up and share a camp fire or two.  If all goes well we should pull in to Arizona two weeks before race day with some great training under the belt.

My focus for that race – run sub 3 hours.  I know it’s doable with the a 3:05 that I ran there last year, and the 3:05 I ran again at Ironman Coeur d’Alene with far less fitness than I have now.  More than anything else, I want that barrier to fall.  If I can precede that with a fast swim and a fast bike…perfect.

~ by trevorandheather on October 21, 2009.

One Response to “From sweat to shivers”

  1. Hey – neat to see that you’re both gearing up for Arizona.

    Heather – really feel for you at Kona, talk about difficulties from an unexpected direction. You got dealt a pretty tough card, but then you are a tough cookie, so you’ll bounce back. I’m going to be following Arizona with real interest to see you do well. I’m also eagerly anticipating Trevor’s sub 3 run. That’s the only thing I’ve got over you at the moment!

    I finished Kona in a time around 1 hr slower than I hoped, and whilst this might appear to be a disappointment, it isn’t the case. I had bad gastric problems on the bike, and was so pleased that I came through them to still run a reasonable run, even if a little slow. I’ve left a full account of my on my blog. Still, it was a tough day out there.

    Anyway, stay healthy and fit and best of luck…

    Regards

    Rob

Leave a Reply

 
