Bolt Arms and the week ahead

boltarmsSeeing as Usain Bolt has just set two new world records, I figured it only fitting to post a picture of my own Bolt Arms.

Heather has once again decided at the very last minute to jump into a race.  This time it’s a FINA 5km open water swim here in Kelowna…tomorrow.  I would love to take part as well, and it would be a great last effort before Ironman Canada next weekend – but the darn thing is wetsuit ILLEGAL.  Here’s the most accurate definition of a 5km wetsuit illegal Canadian lake swim that I could find in my personal dictionary:  Imminent death by hypothermia and drowning, preceded by tears and convulsions.

Well, not really, obviously. But I wouldn’t make it to the finish without some serious stress on the body.  You may have read Heather’s blog post from a while back about our attempt to swim in ‘swim skins’ for a 1 hour out and back in Kalamalka Lake. I got OUT ok, coming BACK was disastrous.  Keep this in mind…I get cold swimming in Hawaii!! I don’t know how that’s possible, but it’s not an exaggeration.

Anyway, back to the point; Heather is racing and I’ll be spectating.  Spectating a 5km swim from the beach is not really spectating, though.  It’s kinda like trying to find Waldo when he’s not really on the page.  Should be fun to watch her start and finish, though.

As for me, Ironman Canada is coming up and I’m ready.  Very ready.  This will be my 5th time on the start line at Ironman Canada and can without hesitation say I have never been this prepared.  I can also say without hesitation that this is the most competitive field I’ve ever seen at Ironman Canada.  It will be a pleasure to be racing with some of the bigger names in the sport – Luke Bell, Lothar Leder, Thomas Hellriegel, Jasper Blake…and many many others.

Ironman Canada was my first Ironman in my first year of triathlon back in 2004.  It’s been a climb up since then:

2004- 11:10
2006 – 9:44
2007 – 9:29
2008 – 9:01

Time to see if I can knock another 10 minutes off that.  Of course, you have to take into consideration the day itself.  It could be a fast one, it could be a windy one, it could be a cold one.  You never know, so having a good day is not 100% contingent on time.

I LOVE THIS RACE!!!

~ by trevorandheather on August 21, 2009.

4 Responses to “Bolt Arms and the week ahead”

  1. Ditto most of that… I would have gone for the 5k swim tho! 🙂 Where are you guys parking the camper this week?

  2. Trev…i know i saw at least 10 minutes in you after CDA. This is your race go out there and take control of it.

  3. I’ve been reading the blog for a while and am a huge fan of you guys! Good luck at IMC! You’ll rock it!

Leave a Reply

 
