Trevor’s Ironman Coeur d’Alene Race Report

imcdaproswimstartStraight to the point – that swim was rough! I rank it as my most stressful swim ever.  Boise 70.3 from 2008 comes a close second.  There were a couple times where I went to bring my arm out of the water only to find a wave pushing it back down.  You’d then break through the other side of the wave only to crash in to the trough and plow right in to the next wave without a chance for a breath.  Thankfully though, only one major panic, a few motion sickness burps and one annoying chick that wouldn’t get off my shoulder.  Guy from Blueseventy hooked us up with some wicked new goggles the day before the race.  The Hydra-Vision’s.  Despite the chaos of the water, athletes, waves and wind I could always spot a swim buoy with these puppies.

I took my sweet time in transition and dressed for cold weather.  I almost didn’t bother, but coming out of the water I could feel a nip in the air and see some clouds coming in.  Given the wet nights and cold thundershowers we had been having the few days before, I didn’t want to take any chances.  It ended up staying dry, but I certainly didn’t overheat so was happy to have the extra layer.  Heather said she was getting pretty cold, so I would I have been in trouble were it not for the long sleeves.

cdabiketrevI’m satisfied with my bike split even though it was slower than both of my Ironman splits from last year.  It’s a deceptively tough course and one that can wreck your legs quickly if you try to muscle it over the rollers.  I made the decision to take it a bit easier on the bike so as to really give myself a good chance at cracking 3 hours on the marathon.  It’s a fine line really, and one that’s tough tread.  I even-splitted the course – perhaps 2 minutes faster on the second lap and had plenty left in the tank, a good sign.  Chance and Chris from Blue were at the race this year and they really got our bikes going well.  Some new ceramic bearings in the bottom bracket, a tweak to the brakes, drive-train and the ‘Triad’ was flying.  “If you love it – Lube it”

Getting on to the run I felt good right away.  I think I may have been 10th going into T2 and 9th coming out.  Going sub three as per my goal requires an average pace of about 6:55 per mile.  I figured if I could just keep it sub 6:50 for 13 miles that should give me a really good shot at cracking that time.  I know I have it in me to run that fast this year but it didn’t come out on Sunday.  My first two miles were awesome, and easy – both looking at 6:35 pace (perhaps a bit too fast, it’s hard to run slow when the crowd is cheering out of transition).  From there I lost track of a few of the mile markers but got on them again at mile 6 where I hit a couple 6:58’s…not inspiring for my 3hr goal.  A few more mile splits and I was still hitting around 7’s at the effort I wanted to put out, so decided to forget the mile split focus and just get on with figuring out how to get up to 5th place.  You see, 5th place had one of those wicked bikers with the “5th place male” sign on it…and I wanted that.
trevruncdaWith about 10 miles to go, still sitting in 8th after being passed by one guy and passing a few others, I started to really feel my pace drop off badly.  A mile after that I was happy to simply tuck in behind couple age groupers on their first lap for shelter from the freezing wind.  I started thinking about how I was going to manage to run or even move through the remaining 9 miles.  The wind and cold really started to hit me once I couldn’t push the pace, my engine was shutting down and the heat that comes with that engine was disappearing fast.  Along the lake it seemed like a headwind both ways, I must have been moving at a sluggish 9 minute mile pace about to resign myself to walking.  Then came dizziness, my definite sign of low sodium.  I hadn’t even thought to continue popping my electrolyte pills because I wasn’t even close to warm enough to sweat.  As soon as I got to the next aid station I stopped, grabbed warm chicken soup broth, downed two electrolyte pills, slammed a coke, a gel, and a cup of water -15 seconds later, no exaggeration, I started feeling like a new man.
At the far turn around with six miles to go I saw 5th, 6th, and 7th were all within half a mile of me.  With my new found legs I managed to start closing the gap on 7th, and he was closing the gap on 6th, who was also closing the gap on 5th.   I could tell Scott Curry( in 7th ) was trying to real in 6th so I didn’t know if he’d be paying attention to me coming up on him.  Once I got within a few seconds, Scott was also right behind 6th place about to make a pass.  Scott knows my name so I was hoping nobody would yell out ‘Go Trevor’.  I prefer the sneak attack, haha.  But they did, and they also yelled ‘There’s three of you together with only two miles to go’.  I love racing, and was stoked to be RACING in the last few miles of an Ironman.  It’s so often just survival and willing the finish line to come so the pain can end.  Having two other guys around, all fighting for money spots was pretty uplifting.  Thankfully I had really good legs and was able to go from 8th to 6th in one blow.  Even with a mile to go Chance and Chris from Blue were screaming at me to catch 5th.   I think they thought we had more than a mile to go but I kept running hard even with the guy out of site hoping he was walking a snails pace down the last few corners. I came into the finish about a minute down from that lead ‘5th place male’ biker that I wanted so badly.  Had I held it together through miles 16-18 maybe I could have got it.

TrevrunA solid day in some less than optimal conditions, perhaps they played in my favor though, it’s hard to say.  It’s somewhat ironic that Heather and I spent the last 4 months seeking out warm weather only to have race day dawn with the coldest day we’ve had since March.  Fun times.  The more Ironmans I do the better my recovery seems to be.  Good thing on this one ’cause next up is Ironman Canada only 10 weeks away.

Thanks so much for all the support from you folks reading and cheering out on the course.  Heather and I love the triathlon world, everyone is so freaking cool.  Jasper Blake is still the coolest, though.  I hope some of you got chance to come up and check out the Blue Bike Demo at Cyclemetrix.  Blue is making a huge entry in the world of triathlon.  Brent McMahon has already won a 70.3 on their Triad, Adreas Raelart (Ironman Arizona 2008 Champion and 70.3 world championship silver medalist) is slated to kick some ass at Ironman Germany and Hawaii, Heather has her Ironman win from last year and two Ironman podium finishes on Blue Bikes, and well…hopefully you see my name as an Ironman winner within the next couple years too.

AVIA – you guys rock.  This is the one shoe company that I’ve never had blister problems with.  They’re putting a lot of focus on the triathlon world and making some sweet shoes.

And of course I have to thank Coach ChuckieV.  He’s helped us learn how to train as full time athletes.  It’s only been 4 months and we’re already looking at 2 years from now.  ‘You’re training to train’ is our mantra for this year.  Meaning, you train hard and smart now, so you can eventually train hard enough to be in contention for the wins.

Trevbike

sponsors

~ by trevorandheather on June 24, 2009.

3 Responses to “Trevor’s Ironman Coeur d’Alene Race Report”

  1. Hey, now that you are gone we have time to read your blog! Excellent posts. Lots of tears last night as the girls and Bonnie miss you. Hope your trip home was effortless. Keep up the good reads!

  2. You and Heather looked awesome out there…I tried to find you after the race for a high-five, but you were probably wrapped in a space-age silver blanket somewhere. Keep rockin’ it…I’ll be up in Canada cheering for you!

    Ben

  3. I am trying to find your Dad. This is Mike Phillips and I hope to catch upp with him
    Thasnk

Leave a Reply

 
