Some people just gotta hate

love-hate-babyI got this mail from a “Mr.  Someone who has since apologized” this morning.  (In fact, someone used someone else’s email so if anyone remembers the guys name – please forget it.)
==
Not impressed at all with the way you handled Lisa Bentley’s attempted pass on the bike in 2008.  She’s a fellow Canadian for goodness sake!  Maybe your one and probably only Ironman win has got to your head?  Emma Snowsill doesn’t even have her own website – now that’s a true humble athlete….one to respect.  I’ve never seen her give attitude to other athletes out on the course.
I love Canadian athletes….Heather Fuhr, Lori Bowden, Peter Reid…..sorry, but you just don’t cut it in the respect category.

==
Though it isn’t even worth my time and energy to reply, I felt the need to write something. It is my first hate mail, so it is a special occasion.

First of all, thinking that you actually know anything about anyone’s true personality from watching a 30 second video clip is ridiculous.

Secondly, thinking that athletes who are trying to make their living through the sport of triathlon shouldn’t have websites, for modesty’s sake, is idiotic.

I will clarify the Lisa Bentley “screaming match” for those who are curious. In the first 10k on the bike at IM Canada last year, I passed Lisa Bentley. She came up to re-pass me moments later and I didn’t slow down quick enough for her liking so she turned to me and screamed, angrily, that I needed to drop back out of the draft zone. At the time, I wasn’t aware that I sped up when she came up – but it sure looks that way on the video. Fair enough. I was shocked by her outburst, just sort of in my own zone riding, and so I yelled back “Lisa, I’m hardly even peddling!”. I then dropped back the required 10 m, re-passed her, and that was the last I saw her for the rest of the race.
The camera guys were right there and they got it all on tape. Pretty exciting footage – Ironman bikes aren’t always the most thrilling of spectator events and so this little clip is shown in the race-recap. They showed it at the awards, and the audience laughed. We were all up on stage at the time and Lisa and I were jovial and joking about it. I apologized that I didn’t realize I wasn’t backing out of the zone fast enough, and she laughed saying she was just mad because she had to work so hard to pass me.

Mark is right. Canadian athletes are awesome. Anyone who knows Lisa Bentley knows that she is a smiling amiable person outside the performance area, but that she is an extremely fierce competitor.  She was mad and she screamed at me, I got mad and yelled back. That is racing, the eye of the tiger. Your competition is your competition.  It doesn’t make you a bad person.

Getting angry in the heat of competition is part of the game, writing a hateful email directly to someone you’ve never met and know nothing about speaks a lot more to the quality of your character.

PS. In case you didn’t catch the link above – here’s Emma Snowsill’s website for you.

~ by trevorandheather on June 18, 2009.

11 Responses to “Some people just gotta hate”

  1. Cool…a hate mail…well maybe more of an “I don’t really like you very much” mail but still quite interesting. Strange that anyone with an idea about sport would not understand that a little controlled aggression can be a very good fuel to fire success. I was at the banquet and watched you and Lisa laughing about it on stage after IM Canada. She didn’t have a problem…you didn’t have a problem…just “Woody”seems to be a bit put out ! Come on “Woody”…get in the game dude!

  2. If someone sending you “hate” mail is checking out your website, you’ve got their interest, strange way to get it through someone who doesn’t even seem to know what respect is but you got it! I too was at the banquet and everyone there got what was going on and laughed at the showing of the clip, as they should have. Some people just take things the wrong way. Woody, you should get to know people before you judge them and who makes you the judge anyway??

    Heather is a true and proud Canadian with a huge heart and a brilliant mind. You just have no idea!

  3. As someone who’s received his fair share of hate mail (and even some death threats!) all I can say is to brush it off Heather. We saw the whole episode on TV and it was but a trivial event, just as this is.

    Teddy says, “It is not the critic who counts: not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes up short again and again, because there is no effort without error or shortcoming, but who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, who spends himself for a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows, in the end, the triumph of high achievement, and who, at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat.”

  4. haha. That actually made me laugh!
    BTW I love that you guys have an up to date website. How else could I procrastinate my daily chores while being inspired and made to laugh at the same time?!?

    Good luck this weekend to you both!

  5. Your website continues to inspire me, and I love the transparency of your experience. Please keep up the great content!!

    Sad to see the haters- more pathetic actually….downside of blogging, easy to hide behind a computer so in a sense it can promote negativity.

    Kick some tail this weekend guys- can’t wait to see the results of all the hard work.

  6. What a jackass!

    By my calculations ES has one website and you have 0.5 of a website (since you share it). Not that anyone should be counting anyway…

    Have a great race both of you!

  7. Heather,

    I watched IM Canada last year, I remember seeing that little spat. I don’t understand how someone can possibly come up with that opinion of you by watching that.

    I remember thinking that you guys were a little ticked at each other, and that Lisa looked right but I didn’t think much after that. She yelled, you yelled back and the race went on.

    Definitely brush it off. Congrats to you both for your 3rd (I think) and 6th places at IM CDA

  8. Just imagine what kind of a life this character must have gone through that lead to a mindset where it’s okay to use another person’s computer to send an email designed to hurt a perfect stranger in regards to an incident they know nothing about.
    Further imagine what kind of life he must continue to live.
    Imagine what it must be like to wake every day and be him.

    Heather – as with everything you do – you handled this guy with more dignity than he deserved.

  9. We have a technical term for people like that here in the states, DOUCHEBAG!

  10. I know this isn’t his forum, but Chuckie-V rules! He summed it up perfectly. Keep training and living hard, you’re doing amazing. Congrats on a fine effort at CDA – best with your build towards Kona.

Leave a Reply

 
