A quick ‘five-ten’ on our way up north

Heather and I just finished day two of our drive up to Ironman Coeur D’Alene. Day one was a right-off in the training department, but neither of us minded as we had plenty of fatigue in the body. We were hoping to swim in Lake Berryessa, but couldn’t find what we were looking for (No boats, ideally), so we parked along the river with the hope of swimming in the morning. That too fell through as the water was a tad cold. We toughed it out as best we could, and managed to stay in for 10 minutes, working through the extreme pain that comes to your bare hands and feet. We just couldn’t get through the facial pain of a submerged cranium – it was just too intense. So, we jumped back in the RV and went to plan B – hike/jog up to Castle Crags not far off the PCT (Chuckie’s epic 3000+ mile hiking venue – Pacific Crest Trail from Mexico to Canada – that he did twice on his own. If you ever meet him, he will in some way relate a daily experience to his hike on the PCT. Only the experience on the PCT will be gruesomely multiplied 10 fold. I couldn’t imagine hiking that far, seriously amazing.)

climbinstolzWe figured it would be a great opportunity to test out the AVIA Stolz offroad shoes and see some wicked scenery. We got a bit carried away with the testing of the AVI Stolz’ and ventured on to some steep-ass rock faces. I was definitely out of my comfort zone, but committed to keep going up, ’cause going back down would definitely not turn out well. Heather snapped the shot from the actual hiking trail -which I really should have stuck too. Climbing precarious rocks with no ropes, 3 weeks out from an Ironman, is probably not the smartest thing I’ve done.  Turns out the AVI-Stolz’ are pretty freakin sticky. We should put them in the Rock Climbing/Running Shoe/Triathlon category of footwear. Anyway, on a rather lackluster internet connection right now so I’ll have to put more cool photos up later. This one takes the cake, though.

~ by trevorandheather on June 2, 2009.

5 Responses to “A quick ‘five-ten’ on our way up north”

  1. Great to see how amazingly versatile the AVIA shoe can be if put to the test. Shades of the great free climber, Gaston Rebuffat. Like to see you do that in “cycling shoes” !

  2. I am amazed that you have managed to make the horizon almost vertical. What a shoe!

    • WHAT!! Are you suggesting that this pictures is a fake and that Heather tilted the camera sideways so that it looked like I was climbing? Noooooooo. Haha, I am so glad someone called us out on that. I was beginning to get a bit worried that it was being taken seriously.

      • Yeah, I took it seriously, unfortunately. You see, I went out and bought a pair of Avia’s then tried my hand(s) (and feet) at rock climbing, only to fall 47 feet and land on my head. I will now remain a quadriplegic for the rest of my years. All because of that picture you guys posted!

        Damn you! (I typed this with my forehead, in case you were wondering.)

  3. Hey so i am so embarrassed about my glorious introduction today on the trail. Give me a call 917 9924627 if you guys want to swim or use or gym facilities or need anything at all.

Leave a Reply

 
