Oceanside 70.3 Race Report – Trevor

Trevor here – hopefully a couple photos to come…

oceansideI don’t think I should ever set goals.  I nail them all too often(which is GREAT, but there’s perhaps a point where the goal becomes a limiter).  Chuckie likes to say – ‘Goals are great if not limiting’.  You can read that two different ways by changing the EmPHaSis of a couple words in the sentance…or adding a coma, I think.
You may have read a post I put up a while back on goal setting and how I always tend to come within seconds of my desired pace or time.  Today was no exception…aside from the swim.   It’s hard to set goal splits on a course you’ve never done, but because this run was dead flat I set one anyway…6 minutes per mile.  What did I do?  5:59/mile.  It’s silly really, like every other goal time I’ve set over the years, I almost always come within seconds.  Regardless of distance or type of event.  Now that the next two races are more important I’ll have to look at setting a placement goal.  Top 5 at Ironman Coeur D’Alene? Perhaps – that’s what the training is geared for so maybe I’ll leave it there.
Race on Saturday at Oceanside 70.3 went well aside from a T1 misshap and a swim that I thought should have been faster.  ‘Should have’ doesn’t cut it of course, and that time on paper will remain 4 minutes slower than the first guys.  Those being the likes of Andy Potts, Brian Rhodes, Matt Read, Paul Tichelar and countless other ITU guys jumping up to the 70.3 distance.  I thought I had a draft and was going to be good to go, but POOF, once I lost a foot or two they all disappeared rather quickly.  Regardless of the big names in attendance, I’ve swam better and will swim better in the future.  There’s something about 70.3 events and my swims that never seem to jive.
T1 – that’ll be an easy fix.  You can be damn sure I won’t be goofing up like that again.  If you missed it…good.  If you saw it, just laugh and get it over with.  First race in four months is meant to iron out a few wrinkles…right?  it wasn’t even really in transition.  More like past the bike mount line and unable to get my shoes on or establish any form of forward motion.  Laughable, and believe me I would laugh at someone who messed that up as badly as I did.  Though I don’t think anyone ever has. Haha.
Once I FINALLY got rolling on the bike I never really let up and held it steady till the end.  The riding these last two months has been exceptional so i knew I’d be able to hold it without fading, and that I did.  It would however be nice to ride with someone over the course of the day.  It’s hard to keep your mind from wandering when you’re all alone, having someone to help share the pace can help in a big way.  That’s where the need for a faster swim comes in.
ocean2My run, as I mentioned, was exactly what i was hoping for.  Heather and I barely touched the speed work, all but 1 killer track workout 5 days before the race.  That workout was more just to open up the pipes and see how we’d race with a bit of fatigue in the legs –  as opposed to trying to gain any fitness/speed.  Even so it gave me a bit of confidence that I could hold 6′ miles.  Confidence is sometimes the only missing ingredient for most anything in life.  Super happy to see I knocked 2 minutes off my best half Ironman run split from last year while solely training the strength/endurance aspect of Ironman (and the tough Wildflower course).  I would bet the improvement came primarily from the increased ride mileage and the ‘are you sure I should be doing that’ bike repeats that Chuckie has us doing.  Getting off the bike after riding hard on my own all day, then instantly having some run legs is a big time saver.
A 17th for me and an 11th place for Heather (in stacked fields) looks horribly depressing, but I can tell you it’s not given what we’re gearing up for this year.  There are a few athletes in the world that can hammer out podium finishes all year long – Ie. the Macca’s and the Alexanders of the world, but that’s simply because their unfit state is still higher than most at their peak.  How do you get to that point?  You train full time for longer than 2 months, that’s how.  Our 2 months of full time training has started well, awesome actually.  Looking forward to stepping it up another gear for May and June.  Time to go swim!

~ by trevorandheather on April 6, 2009.

2 Responses to “Oceanside 70.3 Race Report – Trevor”

  1. The “stacked fields” thing isn’t going to change in the future. This sport is gaining momentum from the bottom up. At the top level it is a war. Casualties will be taken, but it takes time to hone your arsenal. Only then can you kick your enemies’ ARSEnals.

    -V

  2. You’re making improvements steadily and surely — keep looking ahead and upwards and you’ll continue the overall trend.

Leave a Reply

 
