Happy Canada Day

Canada is 141 today. A sprite young thing as far as countries go.

I am feeling a little more sprite myself, now that I have had a little over a week to recover from IM CDA.

With big highs, there sometimes come big lows (I always used to get a little bit of post-exam depression in University) but I have managed to stay pretty even-keel. Thanks so much to everyone for the notes of congratulations. Your kind words had me bubbling over with joy on a regular basis.

I got a few e-mails from strangers thanking me for inspiring them. Wow. That is by far one of the best returns I can think of from excelling in sport. Training the amount one has to for long-distance triathlon is a rather egocentric activity, and it is very gratifying to know that my achievements mean something outside of my own head.

Anyhoo, what I really wanted to write about was ocean icing. Many elite athletes swear by a limb-numbing ice bath after a hard workout (here in Victoria we cheat and just stand in the frigid Pacific for awhile). Interestingly, while ice will effectively block the swelling associated with a serious injury, such as a sprain, there little scientific evidence to show that it speeds the healing of muscle tissue stressed by a workout.

The benifits that many people feel from icing are often attributed to psycho-somatic, placebo effects. I, for one, am all over psycho-somatic, placebo effects. If my legs feel way better after ocean icing simply because I have convinced myself that they will feel way better, that is fine with me! I have also convinced myself that the mental toughness it takes to stand/sit in freezing water is good for me and that the hydrostatic pressure of the water – pressure increases at a rate of 0.445 psi/foot (1kg/cm2 per 9.74 m) when descending in seawater, and I have long legs! – is also good for me.

Here are some pictures from a little ocean icing session that Trevor and had down along Lagoon Rd in Colwood. There was a fake gun battle out in the ocean for the Tall Ships festival so the “peace” of our painful soak was disrupted by cannon blasts!

A nice sunset over the Douglas firs and the lagoon (above), the chiller open ocean (below)

cold water hurts when you have as little body fat as Trevor!!

Grin and bear it!

~ by trevorandheather on July 1, 2008.

One Response to “Happy Canada Day”

  1. Haha Trev, suck it up!!! Good luck this weekend dude.

Leave a Reply

 
