Man down…

Oh man, I’m sick.  I can’t even remember the last time I got sick.  I believe it was over a year ago.

Training yesterday was horrible but I figured it was just a bad day. At work last night I started feeling the ever present tickle of an oncoming cold.  After getting home I downed all the herbal help I could find.  Gogi Berrie juice, Echinacea, and Oil of Oregano in the hopes that something would kill the bug quickly.

Unfortunately my efforts were wasted.  I woke up this morning shivering in a pool of sweat.  Massive headache, light sensitive eyes and of course the burning lungs.  Now that I’m up and at it, I’m feeling fine but will skip any and all training today.  I tried to do a couple sit ups and roll the legs out on the foam roller, even that was pushing it. This does not bode well for my plan to race the half marathon this weekend and may have to think twice about it.  We’ll see what happens tomorrow and make a decision from there.

As much as I hate skipping the training this may be a good thing for the big picture.  I was starting to think I was hitting it too hard at the wrong time, this could bring me back a notch so that I can have a solid month of April.  The way the plan was I didn’t know how I was going to break up the weeks before Wildflower and was simply winging it.  With this cold forcing a bit of down time it will make the plan easy…start up again next week with a 3 week build, 1 week easy, then 2 weeks hard before a week taper.  Again, tomorrow will tell all.  I can still salvage a good week of training if this things takes off with another nights sleep.

~ by trevorandheather on March 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
