The Data

Oh physical fitness data, how do I love thee. I really tell myself not to be stuck on playing the numbers game, but I just can’t help it. I like knowing this kind of stuff, even if I rarely apply any of it intraining. Really, the only thing I do in training is stay aerobic through the winter until March. That’s the one thing I found worked extremely well for me last year, I’ll stick with it again this year. After that aerobic work is done, it’s pretty much fair game as far as I’m concerned. If I feel like hammering myself on a hilly run I’ll do it without a worry about HR or coughing up a lung. This year I’ll probably get back into some aerobic HR cap training during my prep for IM Canada in July, but the early season, post March, will be spent running and riding hard.

And the numbers for my November 2007 VO2 Test are as follows. Thanks very much to Wendy Pethick and Pacific Sport for asking Heather and I to take part in the study.

==========

-Max VO2: 75.5 ml/kg/L @ 181 bpm-5.56 L/min
-Peak Power: 480W (This was on a ramp test of 2 watts per second. A little different than most tests where you hold a set wattage for a couple minutes at least.)
-Total test time was ~16:00minutes
-W/kg: 6.51

The main goal of the study was to try and see if pre-cooling your core temperature would have an effect on a max effort 20km TT. 4 different tests in total (Not including the VO2), 2 @ 25* and 2 @ 30*. One with an ice vest and one without for each temp. The finding: “20km TT data was quite consistent for all conditions, suggesting that pre-cooling & thermal stress did not impact performance.”

Each 20km TT they ran sweat rate and sodium concentration tests. Very useful to know once the racing gets hot:

-Sweat rate: 2.5L per hour at both temperatures
-Sodium concentration: ranged a bit from 40-75ish mmol/L.

75″ish” is a great scientific measure and not what was actually quoted on my results sheet. Good enough for a blog that only 1 million people are going to read, however. 🙂

Hopefully I can put some of this information to good use. I’m 95% sure I finally got the sodium issue solved last year through a couple years of trial and error. It took 2.5 years of racing and cracking at the end of every IM to realize it was mainly a sodium and hydration issue. Even so, I’ve still had major stomach issues after or during every Ironman I’ve done. Even a half Iron will sometimes leave me with crazy crippling cramps, I still cant figure out what causes it. Maybe post race nutrition is what I have to be careful with now. I’ve figured out how to delay that problem in an Ironman till after the race thankfully, ideally it wouldn’t happen at all.

Later Yo,
Merry Christmas!!

~ by trevorandheather on December 22, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
