The HOT athlete study at UVic

This is what I like to call it. Has a better ring to it than “Effects of Pre-cooling and ambient temperature on 20 km Time Trial Performance in Trained Cyclists”.

Trevor and I have signed up to be test subjects for a study going on at The University of Victoria with Pacific Sport and the Canadian Sport Centre. Turns out that Trev didn’t have the patience to wait for me to write a blog entry about it and posted something of his own below. He wrote more about the technical stuff so now I don’t have to…

I am a ridiculously heavy sweater (I drip in conditions when others are dry) and I am pretty interested on getting the data on my sweat rates, sweat sodium concentrations etc. It is going to be so helpful in terms of planning my nutrition and hydration for racing.

I went in for my first appointment yesterday. It involved height, weight, and skin fold measurements and a VO2 max test. Before all you number geeks get excited they are not giving us the info until the study is complete. Having been told this, I focused on keeping my cadence high and didn’t really pay attention to anything else. Somebody we know was obviously a little more curious and sneaky and is already writing stuff about his max wattages and VO2 max in this blog… humm…
This person was also like what did you max out at? Huh huh? How long did it take? What was you max heart rate? And seems rather flabbergasted that I know nothing. Shrug. I just focused on riding hard…

Anyway, the skin fold bit was the highlight for sure. Nothing like someone grabbing your fat and pinching it between callipers to make you feel good about yourself. Unless of course you are my husband..
Try to grab the skin on the back of your hand. Kinda hard to get a grip? This is how it is to try to grab fat anywhere on Trevor’s body. Comparing grab-able fat bits is a couple bonding exercise that I only recommend for highly secure individuals with a positive body image (I used to be one…)

One interesting thing that came up while I was there was the fact that women were not going to be included in the study originally. Our monthly hormonal cycles make our internal temperatures fluctuate and this can get a bit messy when you want to look at temperature- treatment effects on physiology. I.e. is her core temperature that high b/c she is working hard in a hot environment or b/c she is ovulating and working hard in a hot environment. I imagine that these confounding factors should get washed out in the stats… I sure am glad that female athetes are being included. We need to know how heat affects our performance regardless of the time of the month…

Will keep you posted as the study progresses.

~ by trevorandheather on October 26, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
