End of season racing

I’ve decided to delay the down time for a few more weeks and put in a run focus instead. The hope is to run a fast Shawnigan Lake Half Marathon at the end of October. It’s been 3 years since I’ve done a straight up Half Marathon, it’s a tough course so I’m not hoping for anything crazy. I’d be happy with a PB though, given the rolling/hilly terrain I think a sub 1:15 is possible. Hopefully there’ll be some good runners there to push it hard. Seems like most pass up this late season loop of the lake though.

I’m not really sure how I’m going to structure the weeks leading up to the race. I know I’ll get back into the weight room regardless, and I’ll probably keep riding the bike on the days I don’t run. We’ll see, the main reason for doing the race is to extend the ‘season’ a little bit longer, get in some high end HR work which I haven’t touched all year, then take my down time in November. I feel starting up again with base training in December works really well for me and my race goals for next year. 3 months of watching my heart rate in December/January/February…even March a possibility. That’ll lead into some early season races and hopefully Ironman Japan if we can work out the logistics of not having enough money to get there. Plus I’d really like to hit up the Canadian Long Course Championships in 2008 but the dates haven’t been set yet. The main goal of course will be Ironman Canada and I may have to sacrifice a race or two in order to put together the proper training block.

Here are the races on my potential 2008 race list.
*Shawnigan Lake Half iron – For sure
*Wildflower – Looking for sure
*Victoria Half iron
*Ironman 70.3 Lake Stevens
*Ironman 70.3 Boise Idaho – If I don’t do IM Japan
*Ironman Japan – very tentative at the moment
*Canadian Long Course Champs
*Ironman Canada – Absolutely for sure – My ‘A’ race
*Vancouver Half Iron
*Ironman Florida – If I don’t do Japan and the motivation is there after Canada to train again.

Obviously everything is till very much up in the air. But I’ll hopefully put everything together for sure by December.

Adios amigos!!! Hope to see you at the races.

~ by trevorandheather on September 24, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
