Presumptions

I was reading an interview with Farris Al Sultan in the recent Triathlete magazine. I remember thinking “I like him” but then I got to thinking how absurd it is for me to have an opinion in the first place. Somehow the interviews, media snippets, and the random collection of factoids I have collected have been presented in such a way that I think positive thoughts about the guy.

Trev’s neutral face looks like he’s pissed, and if you are quiet people often assume that you are a snob or a jerk. We base so much on so little…

Anyway, while I was thinking how difficult it is to ever truly know things about the minds other people and I came upon this interview on the CBC, r.e. the documentary “My Kid Could Paint That” at the Toronto Film Festival. The comments really resonated with me so I thought I’d post it. We don’t know much about these athletes we admire: we admire media representation of them…

Q: Did this experience sour you on documentary film making?

A: I’m really glad you asked me that. The film is young, and I’m trying to see how people take it. I want to be clear that these things that I’m pointing out in the film are inherent in the medium of storytelling. It shouldn’t make people sour on documentaries. It should make people aware of how they work. The same way abstract expressionists were trying to make people aware of the act of painting, not trying to pretend as though a landscape is a real landscape. That’s all I was trying to draw attention to. A painting is not a window into reality; it’s a construction, and every documentary is a construction. Every painting, every piece of journalism, every 60 Minutes story, every online interview is a construction. But there’s no getting around it. You’re going to take this interview, you’re going to edit it down, and I took a year of film, I made it into an hour and a half. It’s not a thing; it’s a representation of a thing.

~ by trevorandheather on September 14, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
