3 hard days leading into a break

I’m now into my fourth day of recovery. Things are feeling great, I haven’t touched the running shoes but have managed some easy rides, a day of weights, and an easy swim. Those last three days of training on the 12 day block were tough. Saturday/Sunday I totalled 50km of running and a hard 4km swim. I could feel some pains in the shin and a very tired body that barely made it through my evening shift. Now it’s Thursday and I’m ready to get back into it. It’s going to be more of a ride focus for the next 12 days. I’ll hopefully keep the run miles at around 70km per week but I’ve got to get over the 500km mark on the bike. I’m also thinking of throwing in my first epic day next Friday. I may only squeeze in 2 epic days before IM Arizona. I think the base is sufficient to hold up a good 9-10hr day for mid Feb. Then another in mid-late March leading into the taper.

I believe a lot depends on those epic days. Consistency is definitely key for most of the year but a good shocker or two has a way of mentally preparing you for the race day hardship. In 2006 I did a 10hr ride from Kelowna, BC to Chiliwack 1 month before IM Canada. After that, my bike legs were so good for race day. I’m going to make it more of an all around epic day this time with the hopes of finishing strong on the run.

Race this weekend. 12km run in Nanaimo. Should be interesting. I’m not hoping for anything fast, I just want to push the HR into the red for the first time in months. If I can go sub 45 minutes I’ll be satisfied. Actually, put it this way. I won’t be worried if I go sub 45.

~ by trevorandheather on February 8, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
