Anger Management

This past ski weekend was good. The travel time to Vancouver and back eats into one training day but all in all last week ended up with some decent quantity/quality training. Had a good ski at Cypress on Saturday. What a tough mountain, either straight up or straight down. It was the trip home and not being able to train before going to work that got me into the anger zone.

There are not many things that make me angry. Perhaps the occasional ‘LOUD TALKER’ or raging lunatic will put me in a foul mood. But, I get over those situations quickly and move on with my life. However, I can guarantee you that crappy training days caused by crappy weather have a way of making me an evil person for extended periods of time. I try hard to stay in a positive frame of mind but some times it’s just a bit much. The worst was yesterday when I hit the deck while attempting a ride outside. I was already on edge from not having the most stellar weekend of training. But then to finally get out for a ride and crash after the first 20minutes…my anger anger and frustration has reached a new high. To top it off, it was one of those pathetic crashes that doesn’t even look impressive but hurts like hell. If I’m going to get hurt in a bike crash, all that I ask is to leave a lasting impression on the few motorists that are in my vicinity. This crash was anything but. Traveling at about 10km/hr while rounding a corner, the front wheel slid out from under me…plain and simple; pathetic. I hit the ground hard before I even knew what was going on. I rode a bit longer but had to finish off the ride with an hour on the rollers. Tried to run post ride but my hip is really bruised, called it quits after 4 minutes.

Next day…
My spirits are back today after a good swim and roller ride. I was feeling great in the water, ripped off 4k no problem. Grabbed a workout from Gordoworld.com, it was fun and I positively enjoyed my time at the pool. I have the day off work tomorrow as well so I’m hoping the sun we had today will continue to melt away this excess of snow. Planning for a good ride and a good run if things go well. I’m confident the weather will co-operate.

~ by trevorandheather on January 16, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
