Starting my own blog…

I’ve always enjoyed reading Gordo Byrne’s blog, he’s an incredible wealth of information. I’m surprised at how much he gives away about his training. Most top athletes seem to hide their training ‘know how’. Gordo on the other hand has years and years of experience that he’s thrown onto his website. I’ve been pouring over it for the last few month and would have to say I’ve adjusted the way I train in a big way.

Coming from a cycling background I had always trained with a team since I was 17 years old. They all trained in pretty much the same way…
Monday: Easy
Tuesday: Hammer out the intensity – Threshold intervals
Wednesday: Long ride
Thursday: Big gear intervals – Muscular endurance
Friday: Motor pacing or high cadence ride
Saturday/Sunday – Race like hell.

I followed that general pattern for a good 4 years of racing in Europe. More often than not I would have a stellar early season and be burnt to a crisp by August. Then I’d go home to Canada, rest up and train really bloody hard all winter(far too hard). Now that I look back on it I have some regrets and wish I could have had the specific goal oriented training I do now. Too much racing and not enough focused training for a specific purpose back then.

Anyway, a good 7 years later and 2 full seasons of triathlon under my belt I can honestly say I am in the best shape of my life. Going into the 2007 season I’m looking forward to having an incredible year. My main goal is to be knocking on the door of a 9hr ironman in 2008. Seeing as my best so far is 9:44:30 I still have a ways to go. But, I am confident I can knock off a good 25minutes from the run with the few adjustments I have made.

~ by trevorandheather on January 9, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
